Read temperature with TMP-36 and WiPy ADC

Questions and discussion about The WiPy 1.0 board and CC3200 boards.
Target audience: Users with a WiPy 1.0 or CC3200 board.
Gabi

Read temperature with TMP-36 and WiPy ADC

Post by Gabi » Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:28 pm

Hi,
I just received my wipy and my 2 TMP36 sensors and I wanted to test them.

So, I have configure my ADCs on the wipy on GP2 and GP5 and I got some weird values: they were around 1800-2000.

Now, I have read all of the messages here: http://forum.micropython.org/viewtopic. ... 251&p=1167 with much attention, I understood that these values means a temperature around 100°C...As this is still winter, I think there is a problem :D

In fact, it is around 18-20°c in my appartment so I should have around 600.

Since I just bought the sensors and the wipy I was wondering if I missed something (some configuration maybe) or if that just my sensors that are KO or if I needed other components.

I am kind of new in electronical stuff so I might be missing something huge... :oops:

FYI, I use the wipy extension board with a 3.7V/650mAh Lipo battery. Also, when I read some other input also meant to be ADC, I read some 500 values, I was also wondering if that was normal.

Thank you for the help/feedback :)

danicampora

Re: Read temperature with TMP-36 and WiPy ADC

Post by danicampora » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:36 pm

Hi Gabi,

Welcome to the forum!

Could you share the code that you are using to read the ADC's value? What's the software running on your WiPy? Type os.uname() to ge it.

When using the expansion board... Are all the jumpers installed? Maybe the jumper connected to the battery sense pin is not there...

Cheers,
Daniel

Gabi

Post by Gabi » Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:53 pm

Hi Daniel,
Thank you very much for your reply :) (and sorry for the late answer, I did not see it before ^^")

Here are the software running on my WiPys: