Getting Started Help - Noob

Questions and discussion about The WiPy 1.0 board and CC3200 boards.
Target audience: Users with a WiPy 1.0 or CC3200 board.
averagedawg

Getting Started Help - Noob

Post by averagedawg » Sun Jul 17, 2016 9:47 pm

I am new to all of this - any help would be appreciated. So, please have patience.
NOTE: it would be a huge help for noobs like me if there were more training videos or tutorials (or better comments in the code). I find the tutorials are vague (unless you are in this programming space - but hard to follow for a noob who is trying to learn). Videos are great because I can study what happened and usually get it to work.

I am going through the blynk examples - and stuck. Can anyone help with the below questions?

#1.
i open the first example file '01_simple.py' file on ubuntu (using dr. python) to modify the network settings. I received a message that the line ending is in dos/windows mode "\r\n" and asking me if I wanted to change it to unix mode "\n". I am assuming this makes no difference when running the file on the wipy?

#2.
when typing execfile('01_simple.py') i receive the following error
>>> execfile('01_simple.py')
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
OSError: could not open file '01_simple.py

But, when I type the full path in the command, it runs.
execfile('/flash/lib/01_simple.py')

Why? What am I doing wrong in my environment? Shouldn't execfile('01_simple.py') run?

When 01_simple.py runs, it kills the terminal session. To understand this better, I ran the simple.py code one line at a time through the REPL, and the terminal is killed when I run this "wlan = WLAN(mode=WLAN.STA)"