Getting started with pyBoard & electronics

The official pyboard running MicroPython.
This is the reference design and main target board for MicroPython.
You can buy one at the store.
Target audience: Users with a pyboard.
HLA91

Getting started with pyBoard & electronics

Post by HLA91 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:27 pm

Hi All,

I hope this is the right place, I purchased a Pyboard when they first came out, originally my employer was interested in using the board for RFID/Bluetooth purposes but went with a off the shelf solution.
I came up with a little project for myself of building a robot utilising servo motors to drive wheels and IR sensors to detect obstacles, now my only problem is I have never done anything electrical before. I haven't ever used GPIO Pins, used a soldering iron, built a circuit, or even touched a breadboard so I'm a total noob in this dept.
Is there any recommended tutorials/books to get me going to learn about what all the different pins mean and how to utilise them without blowing something up or frying my board? I have been loaned a breadboard and an LCD screen from a friend, I'll try and post a picture tomorrow to see if anyone can identify the model as I cannot see any names/serials.
My first idea is to order a soldering iron and solder on female headers to enable me to start playing about, any objections?

Thanks

HLA91

markxr

Re: Getting started with pyBoard & electronics

Post by markxr » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:06 pm

Soldering on female headers is certainly a good idea.

I'd recommend you find your local hackspace, where you'll probably find someone who can help.

Be very careful with boards which only support 3.3v - don't feed 5v into the inputs, otherwise you may let the "magic smoke" out i.e. destroy your chip.

For inputs, always put a big(ish) resistor, say 1k, in series with a digital input especially if you're not 100% sure it's the correct pin.

Mark

HLA91

Post by HLA91 » Wed Jun 08, 2016 12:04 pm