Get a sensor working (help a noob)

Questions and discussion about The WiPy 1.0 board and CC3200 boards.
Target audience: Users with a WiPy 1.0 or CC3200 board.
Post Reply
soobrosa
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 9:29 am

Get a sensor working (help a noob)

Post by soobrosa » Thu Jun 02, 2016 9:33 am

Hi,

I'm a noob who's pretty much bad at soldering, still have a decent experience in collecting data from various devices.

What sensor would you recommend for me that I can plug/force onto the new Expansion Board without soldering?

Any feedback and advice is much appreciated!
http://soobrosa.info

User avatar
dhylands
Posts: 3301
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:08 pm
Location: Peachland, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Get a sensor working (help a noob)

Post by dhylands » Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:26 pm

You may want to look at the grove sensors.
http://seeedstudio.com/item_list.html?keywords=grove

There are some grove adapter wires for more common prototyping:
http://seeedstudio.com/item_detail.html?p_id=1565
http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/grove-4- ... -wire.html

The grove sensors tend to fall into one of 3 categories:
1 - analog
2 - digital
3 - I2C based.

and you can purchase many of the sensrs through amazon as well

soobrosa
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 9:29 am

Re: Get a sensor working (help a noob)

Post by soobrosa » Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:49 pm

Thanks so much!

In the meantime I also got hold of an Artik 5
https://www.artik.io/modules/overview/artik-5/
and an A41SK
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12728

I managed to figure how to make the A41SK sing with the ARTIK.

My new noob question is that if red wire goes 3V3, black goes GND where should the yellow analogue signal go?

Thanks in advance!

soobrosa
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 9:29 am

Re: Get a sensor working (help a noob)

Post by soobrosa » Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:17 pm

So I figured, signal went to G4 and it's works lovely.

>>> from machine import Pin
>>> import time
>>> from machine import ADC
>>> adc = ADC()
>>> apin = adc.channel(pin='GP4')
>>> while True:
... print(apin())
... time.sleep(1)

Post Reply