[w600x] Compiling Help

Discussion and questions about boards that can run MicroPython but don't have a dedicated forum.
Target audience: Everyone interested in running MicroPython on other hardware.
ejgeiger

[w600x] Compiling Help

Post by ejgeiger » Wed Jun 29, 2022 3:42 am

Hello everyone but especially RobertHH!

I am new to Micropython and now realized I picked a tough board to start with. That said I am trying to compile my own firmware for the w60x chip. I am trying to go step by step as I learn all of this so I started with just trying to compile a firmware using RobertHH repository for the SDK and his branch of Micropython for the w60x port. I have read all of the readme files and can get an image generated and onto the chip but its missing the network module and machine module... obviously important. Can anyone point me to how to troubleshoot further?

One thing I had to do was remove the Src/App/lwm2m-wakaama folder from the SDK because I kept getting a warning about no target being defined and no make file. I don't think this is the issue, but I wanted to put that out there.

I am using a Raspberry Pi 4 to build everything.

Thanks!

Roberthh

Re: [w600x] Compiling Help

Post by Roberthh » Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:05 am

Just update the w60x files from my repository. There were changes needed after the move to v1,19, which are not done. The module smachine and network are back.

ejgeiger

Post by ejgeiger » Wed Jun 29, 2022 4:08 pm

Thank you kindly. I was so sure that I had overlooked something simple.

I am very keen on the w60x board, especially the Air602 form factor due to its cost and ability to just plug it into a usb wall adapter. It seems you are the most active maintainer, your efforts are appreciated. Is there something that a beginner could contribute to help the effort if I wanted to pay it forward? I don't even know enough yet to know where to start.

Roberthh

Post by Roberthh » Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:41 pm