NUCLEO_F446RE

Discussion and questions about boards that can run MicroPython but don't have a dedicated forum.
Target audience: Everyone interested in running MicroPython on other hardware.
Guenther78

NUCLEO_F446RE

Post by Guenther78 » Tue May 30, 2017 9:19 am

Hello Forum!

I am new to micropython. But I want to start with it. I have two boards:
A stm32f4-discovery and a NUCLEO_F446RE.

stm32f4-discovery:
From http://micropython.org/download I got the dfu-file, which I converted with the DFU file manager to a hex file. With ST-Link I flashed the stm32 and it worked. The board appears as a usb flash device in the explorer and i could make a connection with hyper term.

NUCLEO_F446RE:
Here the things are a bit more complicated. I did not find a hex file for it. So I will start to genarate it. How to adapt micropython to another stm32/nucleo board is explained here: http://www.carminenoviello.com/2015/06/ ... nucleo-f4/
So I create a new folder named "NUCLEO_F446RE", dowmloaded the compiler arm-none-eabi-gcc and added the compiler to the path variable of the cmd. And I downloaded micropython-master.zip, unzipped it and copied it to the home folder in cygwin.
With cygwin I tried to build micropython for the the board.

The build-process:
I followed the instructions from the Readme file in the stmhal subfolder. First I made the cross-compiler mpy-coss (with gcc?) and then I tried to create micropython with "make BOARD=NUCLEO_F446RE". The process failed, the error mesage was:

MPY modules/lcd160cr.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "modules/lcd160cr.py", line 1
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
make: *** [../py/mkrules.mk:117: build-PYBV10/frozen_mpy/lcd160cr.mpy] Fehler 1

So I tried it again with the default board PYBV10. The same error appears.

My questions:
- is it right that mpy-cross is build with gcc?
- what does mpy-cross do?
- is there a way to eliminate the module lcd160cr.py?

Best regards and thanks in advance,
Guenther

Damien
Site Admin