[STM32F103] - Porting MicroPython to the "BluePill" board

Discussion and questions about boards that can run MicroPython but don't have a dedicated forum.
Target audience: Everyone interested in running MicroPython on other hardware.
Archer

[STM32F103] - Porting MicroPython to the "BluePill" board

Post by Archer » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:41 am

I have a few of these cheap boards from china usually referred to as the "BluePill" with a STM32F103C8T6 chip on them. They are specified as a 72Mhz ARM Cortex-M3 with 20K of ram and 64K of flash. In search of a low power alternative with more serial ports for the ESP8266's I have been running MicroPython on for the last two months I had a try at slimming the build down to fit in the 64K of flash starting from the minimal port.

Unfortunately I did not get it below 70K without loosing the REPL and I was about to give up the effort when I discovered that the silicon die used in the chips is the exact same as the STM32F103CB which has 128K of flash! See here https://github.com/texane/stlink/issues/516 As soon as I could I tried to confirm this but my ST-LINK V2 still reported only 64K of flash. Then I found a clue that the build in serial bootloader does in fact give access to the 128K flash that the chip has inside. And to my big surprise two of my boards are indeed reporting 128K flash through the serial programming mode.

The last few days I have been reading datasheets and examples and anything to give clues on how to access the GPIO pins on the STM32F103 and have it boot to the MicroPython REPL or at least show me the lines of the frozen module example. After much trial and error I have been able to modify the minimal example to compile for the STM32F103 Cortex-M3 and initialize the GPIO ports just enough to have the onboard LED turn on!