Wemos W600-Pico

Discussion and questions about boards that can run MicroPython but don't have a dedicated forum.
Target audience: Everyone interested in running MicroPython on other hardware.
User avatar
tve
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:12 pm
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by tve » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:17 am

This is how it looks for me on linux:

Code: Select all

> miniterm2.py --filter direct --dtr 0 --rts 0 /dev/ttyUSB2 115200
--- forcing DTR inactive
--- forcing RTS inactive
--- Miniterm on /dev/ttyUSB2  115200,8,N,1 ---
--- Quit: Ctrl+] | Menu: Ctrl+T | Help: Ctrl+T followed by Ctrl+H ---

    __            __
    \ \    /\    / /
     \ \  /  \  / /
      \ \/ /\ \/ /
       \  /  \  /
       / /\  / /\
      / /\ \/ /\ \
     / /  \  /  \ \
    /_/    \/    \_\

MicroPython v1.10-286-g162de770b-dirty on 2020-01-27; WinnerMicro module with W600
Type "help()" for more information.
>>>

moshel
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:36 am

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by moshel » Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:11 am

Thanks!
I figured out some things meanwhile, so sharing in case anyone needs it or search for it:

to flash the newest version of micropython, use the tool from https://github.com/wemos/w600tool.git and not from where the doc say.
run it like this:

Code: Select all

sudo python3 w600tool.py --upload-baud 115200 --upload ../W60X_MicroPython_1.10_B1.3_IMG/wm_w600.fls
another option to connect, probably not as good as the one suggested above is:

Code: Select all

sudo python3 -m serial.tools.miniterm --rts 0 /dev/ttyUSB0 115200

moshel
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:36 am

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by moshel » Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:21 am

and another, probably stupid question... All the docs and tutorials show using micropython in console mode. How do I actually load a program to the w600 to be executed when its turned on?

Christian Walther
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 11:55 am

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by Christian Walther » Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:35 pm

If it has a filesystem, I assume it will execute boot.py and main.py when it starts, like the other ports. (See docs, it looks like they’re only mentioned on port-specific pages.) If not, there is no way apart from building your own firmware. Although you may have trouble getting the files there if the usual tools for that don’t work. (Does it have WebREPL?) In the worst case, you can always type in file writing commands on the REPL.

moshel
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:36 am

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by moshel » Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:07 pm

It does not show in lsblk on my linux, alas
I don't think it has webrepl installed but I am a bit confused about the webrepl concept. If anyone managed to actually load files on it, I would be happy to hear how.
Thanks!

User avatar
tve
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:12 pm
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by tve » Sun Feb 02, 2020 2:15 am

I used a hacked up pyboard.py to load files, it has a filesystem in flash like all the other MP boards.

moshel
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:36 am

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by moshel » Sun Feb 02, 2020 7:48 am

some more information.....
after connecting the w600 to the lan, use sta_if.ifconfig() to find your ip address
run ftp server by :
import w600
w600.run_ftpserver(username="root", password="root")
you can now upload your files!

https://gist.github.com/aerialist/528b4 ... 4bc77f5289 was a very usefull resource

adxx
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Wemos W600-Pico

Post by adxx » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:20 am

my 2c on that board:
1. get w600tool.py from Volodymyr at https://github.com/vshymanskyy/w600tool
- I run my as "python3 w600tool.py <...etc>"
2. always have board connected to wifi or ap activated with ftp server running (I use easyw600.ftpserver()) and have time.sleep_ms(1) in the main loop
- by doing that you'll have ftp access to the board and will be able to replace main.py

Ctr+c, Ctr+d doesn't work when the main loop is running.

Post Reply