Waveshare 2.13in display v2 driver

Discuss development of drivers for external hardware and components, such as LCD screens, sensors, motor drivers, etc.
Target audience: Users and developers of drivers.
mattstock

Waveshare 2.13in display v2 driver

Post by mattstock » Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:51 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to the micropython community, and am working on a project that's based around a custom ESP32 board and one of the common Waveshare/Good Display 2.13" black and white e-ink displays. Between ordering my first display and my second, they seem to have replaced the display with one that seems faster/better, but has a completely different programming and initialization method. :-) There seems to be very little code out there for the new "v2" board.

The model numbers seem to vary a bit, but I'm talking about Waveshare SKU 12672 V2, or Good Display GDEH0213B72. The only example code I've found that works with the new board is https://github.com/ZinggJM/GxEPD, which is great but not python and is somewhat hard to read due to the massive amount of subclassing involved due to the hardware and graphics abstractions.

Before I go down the rabbit hole of porting this logic to a micropython module:

1. Has this already been done, or is anyone working on it and would like to collaborate?
2. Are there existing generic graphics modules that someone could point me to?
3. Is there a process I should be following to provide any developed code to the community?

Thanks much, and I am quite impressed with what I've seen in the platform so far.

mcauser

Re: Waveshare 2.13in display v2 driver

Post by mcauser » Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 am

Official WaveShare drivers - now includes python2 and 3 (Raspberry Pi):
https://github.com/waveshare/e-Paper

WaveShare product page:
https://www.waveshare.com/2.13inch-e-Paper.htm

WaveShare wiki:
https://www.waveshare.com/wiki/2.13inch_e-Paper_HAT

1. A while ago, I forked their old python drivers and made a MicroPython friendly version: