Interest Check in Android/iOS Remote for MicroPython Devices

Discussion about programs, libraries and tools that work with MicroPython. Mostly these are provided by a third party.
Target audience: All users and developers of MicroPython.
painlessprototyping

Interest Check in Android/iOS Remote for MicroPython Devices

Post by painlessprototyping » Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:45 pm

I've been using Arduino for about two years now and just recently discovered MicroPython. For fun I wanted to see how easy it would be to create an Android (React Native) app that could act as a remote control for MicroPython projects. It took me about 4 hours to achieve bare minimum functionality to make an LED blink. I looked on the Google Play store and didn't see anything that currently exists (unless my search abilities are terrible). I'd like to contribute to the MicroPython community and thought this would be a good way. Below I've posted a wireframe of what some of it might look like.

https://imgur.com/rezQCnJ

Would be interested to hear thoughts of if this is or isn't a good idea. Either way, I'd also like to know how else apps might help the community.

pidou46

Re: Interest Check in Android/iOS Remote for MicroPython Devices

Post by pidou46 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:51 pm

Hi,

I investigate with basicaly the same idea.

My building blocks are:

On the controlling device:
- Python 3.6 - I don't want to spend time learning different languages + portability (linux, android, windows)
- UI Kivy - close links with python + portability (linux, android, windows)
Nota: On android pydroid3 app come with kivy already up and running without any effort, for prototyping its cool... Then Buildozer (kivy) will allow me to build clean Android app, when (if) needed!

On MCU side:
- ESP32 with PSRAM it's easier because of available RAM but it would be cool to get it working on ESP8266
- micropython official or Loboris depending on MCU device.