Thonny autocomplete issue

Discussion about programs, libraries and tools that work with MicroPython. Mostly these are provided by a third party.
Target audience: All users and developers of MicroPython.
Post Reply
User avatar
CmdrDeLiver
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:30 pm

Thonny autocomplete issue

Post by CmdrDeLiver » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:45 pm

So I searched high and low for a good IDE. Thonny 3.2.3 looks like the trick so I installed it and wow, it looked nice. I'm hitting issues with autocomplete however for ESP8266.

Installed 3.2.3 for linux 64 bit. Installation and Setup instructions used are here.

Open Thonny > Tools > Open System Shell>
pip3 uninstall jedi
pip3 install jedi

Now autocomplete works with the board based REPL for imported items. Attempting autocomplete for anything not imported pops the same errors repeatedly in a modal dialog, then dumps them to the REPL session:
error NoneType.png
error NoneType.png (44.66 KiB) Viewed 10936 times
Autocomplete is non-responsive in the code editor. Hitting tab might as well be routed to Null.

Any suggestions for resolving these issues?

Thanks,

Mike

User avatar
aivarannamaa
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:19 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Thonny autocomplete issue

Post by aivarannamaa » Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:01 am

Hi!

adzierzanowski recently fixed the shell autocomplete bug in 3.2.4.

I could not reproduce the editor completion problem in 3.2.4. Can you post the code and position where you tried autocomplete?

BTW. I recommend reporting this kind of issues right in Thonny's issue tracker -- most likely you'll get response sooner this way.

Aivar
(Thonny's author)
Aivar Annamaa
https://thonny.org

User avatar
CmdrDeLiver
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:30 pm

Re: Thonny autocomplete issue

Post by CmdrDeLiver » Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:30 pm

Aivar,

I think I'm on 3.2.3. I'll update and post an issue if the problem continues.

Thanks,

Mike

User avatar
CmdrDeLiver
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:30 pm

Re: Thonny autocomplete issue

Post by CmdrDeLiver » Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:47 pm

Aivar,

3.2.4 is vastly better. I'll open a ticket for the error I'm still able to reproduce...

New file, save as 'something.py'

Type imp and hit tab pops up dialog "Autocomplete Error" : "Autocomplete Error"

However:

import os
os. (hit tab)

... now works as expected in both editor and REPL.

Thanks,

Mike

Post Reply