ubluetooth - Question regarding event codes and subscribing to notifying characteristics

Discussion about programs, libraries and tools that work with MicroPython. Mostly these are provided by a third party.
Target audience: All users and developers of MicroPython.
bart

ubluetooth - Question regarding event codes and subscribing to notifying characteristics

Post by bart » Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:50 pm

I am trying to control a BLE-accessible motor with an ESP32 board. I am quite new to microcontroller programming and first tried to use the Arduino IDE, soon to find out that C programming is still not much fun (for me). As this is part of a home improvement project I decided it should be fun and switched to MicroPython as python is pretty native to me.

I have most of the basic building blocks working at the moment, including uasyncio to allow for cooperative multi-tasking and scheduling, an asynchronous webserver to provide a GUI and ubluetooth actually talking to the motor. There are a few things however that I don't seem to grasp on the bluetooth part.

My setup:
  • Board: ESP WROOM 32 development board from Geekcreit
  • Build: "MicroPython v1.12 on 2019-12-20; ESP32 module with ESP32" with IDF v4, no SPIRAM (esp32-idf4-20191220-v1.12.bin)
1. Event codes seem to differ depending on which documentation you use
When I started playing around with this a few months ago all event codes where declared with a statement using bit shifting, like

Code: Select all

_IRQ_SCAN_RESULT = const(1 << 4) #16
In the official documentation I now find a different way to declare the event codes that doesn't use bit shifting anymore and also declares different integer values for the events:

_IRQ_SCAN_RESULT = const(5) #5
I also see that some event codes have been added w.r.t. the info I found a few months ago, like _IRQ_SCAN_DONE, _IRQ_GATTC_SERVICE_DONE and _IRQ_GATTC_CHARACTERISTIC_DONE.