ESP8266 build fails

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
jms

ESP8266 build fails

Post by jms » Thu May 05, 2016 8:38 pm

I am new to the ESP8266, have a shiny d1 board and simply want a recent Micropython that works preferably 1.8 .

Is there a build somewhere ?

I couldn't find one (except for a year old one mentioned in an Adafruit document that doesn't seem to have important bits) so eventually elected to try building it following https://github.com/micropython/micropyt ... er/esp8266 . I would have been quite happy to publish the result to save other people going through the same process trendy though it is these days to waste time building the same thing as other people from the same source.

The SDK seems to build and produce a viable looking cross compiler but after a successful "make axtls" the plain make fails because of lack of osapi.h and user_interface.h which I do not have anywhere. I do not even understand whose responsibility these header files are.

Can anybody get me over this possibly by simply publishing a suitable built Micropython ?

Neil

Re: ESP8266 build fails

Post by Neil » Fri May 06, 2016 7:16 am

I am sure someone far more knowledgeable than me will be along soon, but I do know that those files are from the SDK so my guess would be that you missed out the export command that is given to you at the end of the esp-open-sdk build and therefore the micropython build can't find them.

Damien
Site Admin

Post by Damien » Fri May 06, 2016 9:43 am

It should build if you follow all of the instructions here: https://github.com/micropython/micropyt ... /README.md

In particular, make sure you do the "git submodule update --init" part (or just delete the repository and clone it again).

platforma

Post by platforma » Fri May 06, 2016 9:46 am