[Huzzah Feather] Can't get WiFi connection

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
Post Reply
SergioDeNice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 9:36 pm

[Huzzah Feather] Can't get WiFi connection

Post by SergioDeNice » Tue May 10, 2016 9:44 pm

Hi,

I've just tried to get MicroPython running on my board :

C:\Python27\Scripts>esptool.py --port COM43 erase_flash
esptool.py v1.0.1
Connecting...
Erasing flash (this may take a while)...

C:\Python27\Scripts>esptool.py --port COM43 --baud 115200 write_flash --flash_si
ze=8m 0 D:\Downloads\esp8266-2016-05-03-v1.8.bin
esptool.py v1.0.1
Connecting...
Erasing flash...
Took 2.25s to erase flash block
Wrote 494592 bytes at 0x00000000 in 48.0 seconds (82.4 kbit/s)...

Leaving...

And then I can't see any ESSID to connect to. Any thoughts?
TIA

Serge

User avatar
deshipu
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 5:54 pm

Re: [Huzzah Feather] Can't get WiFi connection

Post by deshipu » Tue May 10, 2016 10:16 pm

You have to reset the board afterwards. Also, computers often cache the list of wifi networks, so it may take a while for the new SSID to appear. Have you tried to connect to the REPL on the serial connection?

User avatar
Roberthh
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 4:13 pm
Location: Rhineland, Europe

Re: [Huzzah Feather] Can't get WiFi connection

Post by Roberthh » Wed May 11, 2016 5:20 am

The latest version does not start webrepl in boot py any more. You have to start it manuslly or change boot.py.

torwag
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:25 am

Re: [Huzzah Feather] Can't get WiFi connection

Post by torwag » Thu May 12, 2016 8:25 am

Just for people looking here, as it was said, to use the webrepl you have to activate it first:

Code: Select all

import webrepl
webrepl.start()
Either in repl-mode or add this to boot.py

SergioDeNice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: [Huzzah Feather] Can't get WiFi connection

Post by SergioDeNice » Thu May 12, 2016 8:19 pm

Resetting the board did the trick. I would have thought unplugging and replugging it would do.
Thanks

Post Reply