Sending mails with esp8266 and micropython

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
Tetje

Sending mails with esp8266 and micropython

Post by Tetje » Sat Aug 27, 2016 5:01 pm

Hi,

I am new to micropython. Until now I mostly used the Arduino and a bit PIC24. But I wanted to feel what it's like to use a more high level language than C/C++ on an microcontroller. So I searched for my nearly unused esp in the deepest deep of my tressure chest to flash the micropython onto it.
The first project that came into my mind, were to send an email, when something special happens. The problem is, that their is no smtplib on the board, but he there are sockets and a tried to work a bit with them, but we did can far. Perhaps, because of the problem, that I don't have any email provider overring SMTP with port 25 anymore (which I think is very good..., but dosn't change it to the easilier side).
Does anyone know how to write a script that enables the use of STARTTLS or SSL/TLS, or has already done so? It would be super cool to get it done.

A question at the end. Is it normal that I only can import the ussl module with "import ussl" and not with "import ssl". I tried it with utime and I was able to import it with "import time"... Just seamed a bit strange to me...

Have a nice weekend.

jms

Re: Sending mails with esp8266 and micropython

Post by jms » Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:05 am

In practice you'll find this really difficult to get right and not break at some time in the future when somebody flicks a switch, perhaps disabling a cipher, on a relay. Use the ESP to do I/O, talk the simplest protocol and nothing else.

Jon

markxr

Post by markxr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:11 am

You definitely want to host your own server on the internet, and have the esp8266 talk to it using some other protocol (not smtp).