Basic Wifi Communication with the ESP8266?

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
synimak

Basic Wifi Communication with the ESP8266?

Post by synimak » Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:48 am

I am self taught in the programing world so forgive my lack of knowledge. Much better at hardware. I just bought a Adafruit Feather with the ESP8266 and am struggling to work out how to communicate with it over Wifi. For ages I have been using an app called "cmd" on my iphone and python telnetlib on my laptop to connect to xbee RN-XV modules. Basic robot driving and relay control etc.

I have loaded micropython, have the webrepl working and love it!

But now I'm stuck. Been searching for tutorials and information but am going round in circles. At this stage I'm not interested in connecting to web sites or anything like that. Just basic communication between my laptop or iPhone.

Any help would be great :D

deshipu

Re: Basic Wifi Communication with the ESP8266?

Post by deshipu » Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:27 pm

If you have webrepl working, then you already have basic communication. Not sure what it is exactly that you need?

quantalume

Post by quantalume » Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:15 pm

Why don't you start out with sockets? That's about as basic as you can get for TCP/IP communication. Download some software for your laptop like SocketTest (http://sockettest.sourceforge.net/), open a socket and try sending some text back and forth. There are some examples here http://docs.micropython.org/en/latest/e ... k_tcp.html and here http://hackaday.com/2016/07/21/micropyt ... the-tires/. Make sure you don't have any firewall issues on your laptop; you may need to initiate the connection from your laptop and use socket.listen() on the ESP side.

pythoncoder

Post by pythoncoder » Mon Sep 05, 2016 7:32 am

Peter Hinch
Index to my micropython libraries.

synimak