Calling experienced network programmers

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
pythoncoder

Calling experienced network programmers

Post by pythoncoder » Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:26 am

I should make it clear that I have no experience of network programming. I've used sockets for inter-process communication on a common machine, but never across a LAN. This seems to be a very different kettle of fish. I'm looking for answers to a rather general question: whether the problems I'm experiencing are implicit to the discipline, specific to WiFi LAN's, or specific to the ESP8266.

In programming the Pyboard you can be confident that subject to well known limitations (interrupts, heap fragmentation) the system is deterministic. With some know-how you can write deterministic applications. My experience with the ESP8266 suggests the contrary.

Three months ago I started a project aimed at bringing MQTT to MicroPython platforms lacking a network interface. The concept was that you'd load an ESP8266 with a firmware build containing my code, install a module on the host platform, link the host to the ESP with a few wires and have ready access to MQTT. It has a few bells and whistles such as setting the Pyboard RTC from an NTP server. I thought this would be easy, and in a sense it was. I got it almost working quite quickly. But the problems of making it work reliably now have me contemplating abandoning the thing in favour of something I can actually achieve. In essence it will work for hours before some disruption on the WiFi causes it to fail. Note that this WiFi network works fine in normal use with PC's and tablets. And I'm not looking for "industrial strength" reliability, just something I could trust for 24/7 domestic use and something I might put on GitHub and advocate for others. Three months on I have not achieved this.