[SOLVED] Motor shield for NodeMCU

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
maple

[SOLVED] Motor shield for NodeMCU

Post by maple » Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:46 pm

I am trying to run motor shield with NodeMCU (ESP8266 12N), motor shield doc: https://smartarduino.gitbooks.io/user-m ... index.html. As I am a newbie, there is maybe some big misunderstanding, which I cannot see after three days working on it.

NodeMCU is flashed with latest Micropython 1.9.2, powering the motor shield from 2×18650 lion batteries (approx 7.5 volts), using a shortcut between VIN and VM, so only one power for controller and motor. The code is after many hours of looking for the problem very simple:

Code: Select all

import micropython
import machine
a1 = machine.Pin(5, machine.Pin.OUT)
a2 = machine.Pin(0, machine.Pin.OUT)
b1 = machine.Pin(4, machine.Pin.OUT)
b2 = machine.Pin(2, machine.Pin.OUT)
a1.value(1)
a2.value(1)
b1.value(1)
b2.value(1)
No PWM, just put HIGH on those pins and look what I can see on motor shield output A+/A-/B+/B-. Controller looks good, I can measure 3.3V on those pins (D1-D3), but nothing on shield output. Between A+ and A- I found 0.2V, between B+ and B- there is about 0.5V.

I bought several pieces of those motor shields and all of them are the same. No output voltage on motor pins.

Photo of my super simple setup
(on photo the power LED is off, but of course, I know about that power switch :-) ).

Does anybody have any idea? I tried also program the pins using Arduino IDE (reflashed the NodeMCU), but no luck too.
Last edited by maple on Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

pythoncoder

Re: Motor shield for NodeMCU

Post by pythoncoder » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:04 am