Can't load firmware on Huzzah's

All ESP8266 boards running MicroPython.
Official boards are the Adafruit Huzzah and Feather boards.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP8266 board.
mcL

Can't load firmware on Huzzah's

Post by mcL » Wed Dec 25, 2019 1:54 am

Hello everyone! Sorry to ask so much on my first post (and at Christmas!) but here goes...

A little backstory
I am no expert but I've been working with microcontrollers off and on for few decades (starting with Motorola 6800's in machine a LONG time ago). I was having an intermittent over-temperature problem in my radiant heating system and decided to dust off a couple Adafruit Huzzah ESP8266 bds I had laying around and connect them to several DS18 temperature sensors to see what was going on. Of course I've been "adjusting" the program daily, but I had the webrepl interface working fine, rshell working fine, and the data was being collected fine. Also, just turned on MQTT and had the 4 sensors sending to my Android phone using my RPi (running PiHole) as the broker using mosquitto.

My main loop normally samples every 10 seconds and prints and writes the string to a file. A new file is created at noon everyday. I didn't (don't) have real-time plotting going yet so every morning I would download the previous day's log file manually (via webrepl or rshell) and delete the copy on the esp. I got busy and didn't remove the file for a couple days (and left a couple copies on chip) and then one day the esp just died. os.statvfs showed 0 free blocks so I filled up the available storage. I deleted all the log files, rebooted, and reloaded my script and all was well (I thought). OK, I'm not 100% sure of the sequence of events thereon, but basically:
. while I had it down I decided to upgrade to 1.12, mostly so I could take advantage of littlefs features. I first did a esptool erase_flash as recommended, but it failed. I also couldn't load 1.12. (errors below)