A light sensor plugin for an automated chicken coop door?

Questions and discussion about running MicroPython on a micro:bit board.
Target audience: MicroPython users with a micro:bit.
MrStewartsir

A light sensor plugin for an automated chicken coop door?

Post by MrStewartsir » Tue Oct 26, 2021 11:55 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to find a light sensor that would work well to be plugged in to the micro:bit; rather than using the LED sensor method.
As it's going outside, I'd like to keep the micro:bit enclosed in the coop and run a light sensor up and out, but I can't find any accessories that can plug in just as a light sensor?

Also, if you have any ideas or suggestions for how to go about the process, I'm looking to write a program that senses sunrise and sunset, tells a servo or piston to go up or down to open and close the door, and be connected a trickle charged battery fed into by a solar panel.

I know I could buy a chicken door that'd do all this for me, but I'm a teacher and I'd like to show my students some real world application of coding in action.

Any and all advice welcome

karfas

Re: A light sensor plugin for an automated chicken coop door?

Post by karfas » Sat Oct 30, 2021 8:18 am

You could
  • use a LDR (Light Dependent Resistor) together with a pull up/pull down attached to a GPIO port
  • calculate sunrise and sunset (provided you have some means to maintain the current time)
  • use your solar panel as a sensor (it's most likely day when the panel's voltage reaches a specific threshold)
Regards,

Thomas
A few hours of debugging might save you from minutes of reading the documentation! :D
My repositories: https://github.com/karfas

scruss

Re: A light sensor plugin for an automated chicken coop door?

Post by scruss » Sat Oct 30, 2021 3:20 pm