main.py loop runs in REPL but not on Boot

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
Quernon

main.py loop runs in REPL but not on Boot

Post by Quernon » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:18 am

My main.py script is quire simple, it just imports time a script to connect to WiFi and a script to publish sensor readings through MQTT. When I enter REPL I can reset the board and see that it connects to WiFi and publishes a value. It will then successfully wait 15 minutes (900s) before publishing the next value.

However, when I reset the board outside REPL, for example by power cycling, no values are published through MQTT. Not even an initial value at the time of boot. The text of my main.py loop is below. Any ideas why this could be happening? I'm a real novice at Python and very new to Micropython so hopefully this is just me being thick!

import ConnectWiFi
import time
import dht_publish

ConnectWiFi.connect()

while True:
dht_publish.publish()
time.sleep(900)

Roberthh

Re: main.py loop runs in REPL but not on Boot

Post by Roberthh » Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:40 am

Which device are you using? ESP32 or ESP8266?

Quernon

Post by Quernon » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:23 am

I'm using an ESP32.

Roberthh

Post by Roberthh » Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:29 pm

Which baord, how do you connect the board, and what is the Level of GPIO0 and GPIO2, when you do not used REPL?

Quernon

Post by Quernon » Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:35 pm

I bought a 'dev' board off AliExpress. See the link below. I connect to the board via the micro USB port using rshell on a Raspberry Pi. I have also used adafruit-ampy but find it less intuitive than rshell. One thing I've noticed is that when I exit rshell by hitting Ctrl + D, I have to power cycle the board to be able to reconnect. Could that connectivity issue be a symptom of the same issue?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/ESP32-E ... 4c4df4VNhp