Connecting to doit.am boards fails

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
johannes

Connecting to doit.am boards fails

Post by johannes » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:49 am

I am pretty new to the MicroPython world and started experimenting with two doit.am boards [1,2].

I successfully erased the flash, flashed the MicroPython firmware and programmed the chip with mpfshell and rshell.

Unfortunately establishing a connection with mpfshell and rshell is a very unreliable business.

To illustrate this i wrote a little test case. The test case counts the number of failed connections.

###############################

#!/bin/sh

NOT_CONNECTED=0

N=100

for i in `seq 1 $N`;
do
timeout 2 mpfshell --loglevel DEBUG -n -c "open ttyUSB0" > /dev/null
RET=$?
if [ $RET -eq 124 ]; then
NOT_CONNECTED=$((NOT_CONNECTED+1))
fi
sleep 1
done

echo Failed connections: $NOT_CONNECTED/$N

Executing the above script yields:

johannes:~/esp/Micropython % ./testcase.sh
Failed connections: 54/100
Failed connections: 49/100
Failed connections: 53/100

#################################

You see that approximately 50% of the connections failed. This applies to both boards i bought.

It would be great to hear if someone with a similar board experiences the same behavior.
I cannot imagine that it is normal that connecting to the esp32 is such a unreliable process.

Best regards and i hope for some feedback

[1]: http://www.smartarduino.com/view.php?id=95103
[2]: https://github.com/SmartArduino/SZDOITWiKi/wiki

pythoncoder

Re: Connecting to doit.am boards fails

Post by pythoncoder » Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:21 am

It's hard to provide support when you don't have the hardware ;) I note you've tried rshell; in my opinion rshell under Linux is the gold standard for connecting to MicroPython hardware. I use it exclusively for connecting to a range of MicroPython targets including the reference ESP32 boards. It should work.