Pulse counter support

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
Mrwhy@arcor.de

Pulse counter support

Post by Mrwhy@arcor.de » Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:34 pm

Hi Forum :)

I'm new to microcontroller programming and micropython... I tinkered some days with an Esp32 without psram and achieved what I was up to, thanks to all this great docs and tutorial!

But now I think I have to go deeper in the esp idf and micropython interfaces. I want to use the integrated pulse counter(pcnt) of the esp32 microcontroller and as far as I have seen there is no implementation yet, or am I wrong?

I think this pulse counters are a nice way of counting the pulses on an input. As I understand this, they are relatively efficient, and one might be able to query the pulses and reset the counter. Maybe it is interesting in one or another scenario.

What do you think?

Best

Bjoern

Iceman

Re: Pulse counter support

Post by Iceman » Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:49 pm

I have the same question regarding implementing pulse counting. Anyone have suggestions?

Thanks!

pidou46

Post by pidou46 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:12 pm

Hi,

Yes I think it would be usefull for keeping track of an for encoder for instance.

I think it would be a nice feature to add at the V2.0 roadmap https://github.com/micropython/micropython/issues/4821, still I have no idea of what coding effort it would involve...
nodemcu V2 (amica)
micropython firmware Daily build 05/31/2016

jimmo

Post by jimmo » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:23 am

Yup this would be a good feature! I see you added it to the 2.0 feature suggestion list.

But out of curiosity, how fast are the pulses that you want to count?

Iceman

Post by Iceman » Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:15 pm

Thanks all. Pidou46 I saw you're post on the Github v2.0 roadmap thread and gave a thumbs-up if that helps!