persistent wifi/mqtt connections or not

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
janol

persistent wifi/mqtt connections or not

Post by janol » Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:30 pm

I have a few esp32 boards with bme280 and ds1820 sensors scattered around a farm to monitor temperatures and humidity. Each esp32 has a oled screen showing the data picked up by the sensors on the local esp board. Currently the oled is on all the time and updated every 5 seconds. The esp32:s are connected via wifi and sends update on their data via mqtt every 5 minutes. Then I have a pi-board acting as a mqtt broker and also running a mqtt client that reads all mqtt data and puts the data from all esp-boards in a central data base.

But I have problems with the reliabilty of the esp32:s and this is probably due to my coding -- I am new to both esp32 and python.
I'm speculating that it could be unreliable wifi- and/or mqtt-connecctions that makes my esp32 hang. Given that I send mqtt messages only every 5 minutes, I wonder if I should close the wifi after each message and then reconnect next time around. Is there a rule of thumb that below a certain frequency there is no point of trying to have a persistent connection?

Same question for my mqtt connection: Should I repeat the mqtt connect this every time I want to publish a mqtt message (currently every 5 min)? Any rule of thumb/best practice?

Thanks for any guidance on this.

/Fredrik

kevinkk525

Re: persistent wifi/mqtt connections or not

Post by kevinkk525 » Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:01 pm

You should check out the asynchronous mqtt library from Peter Hinch: https://github.com/peterhinch/micropython-mqtt
This will keep your esp32 connected reliably.
Kevin Köck
Micropython Smarthome Firmware (with Home-Assistant integration): https://github.com/kevinkk525/pysmartnode

janol

Post by janol » Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:32 pm