ESP32S and adapter board

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
djipey

ESP32S and adapter board

Post by djipey » Fri Jan 17, 2020 8:41 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to upload micropython on my ESP32 WROOM (the bare chip). I got it from here, with the adapter board:

https://www.banggood.com/ESP32-ESP-WROO ... rehouse=CN

I soldered the chip on the adapter (properly, I hope), and powered it. I didn't see any LED blinking, but I suppose this board doesn't have a status LED? (I'm used to the ESP8266).

Once powered, I tried to flash micropython on it, but I couldn't get any connection with esptool. I have sucsessfully flashed bare ESP8266 and ESP32 dev kit before. But this ESP32 WROOM is resisting...

Also, I'm a beginner in electronics and I'm not sure about one thing: the adapter board has 2 empty spots for SMD resistors (R1 and R2, you can see their spots on the pictures). At the moment I don't have any. Are they required for the adapter to work?

Cheers

OutoftheBOTS_

Re: ESP32S and adapter board

Post by OutoftheBOTS_ » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:11 pm

I have used this adapter board before and there is a mistake on the board and it killed my Wroom module.

I ended up using this adaptor/programmer board and it works well and no soldering required it just plugs in https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3299111 ... 22a7c604bb

It is quite a good unit as it has the USB to serial conveter and LED indicators as well as the needed caps to maintain the power required by ESP32 and the circuits for auto boot mode

djipey

Post by djipey » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:39 pm

I might be interested by the adapters you mentioned if they are plug-n play, without soldering.

In the mean time, I would like to try and make my adapters work. Do I need the resistors?

OutoftheBOTS_

Post by OutoftheBOTS_ » Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:53 am

djipey wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:39 pm