What to buy?

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
c22

What to buy?

Post by c22 » Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:28 pm

Hi all.

I'm a full-time software developer and I'd like to test what I remember of my electronics classes of... 20 years ago, give or take.
So I'm planning to buy a board to run MicroPython for a personal project. A quick look into Amazon shows a lot of different vendors offering a variety of different boards in a wide range of prices, some of them suspiciously low. I'm a little bit confused. So let me please to ask you some questions.

1. Every ESP32 or ESP8266 is eligible to run MicroPython?
2. What are the basic differences between ESP32 and ESP8266?
3. There are brands that should be avoided? And brands known to be safe choices?
4. Aside Amazon, there are equivalent or better online stores to buy (Europe / Italy)?
5. I read/saw some MicroPython tutorial and usually they use the REPL through the serial-over-USB interface over the USB cable that also powers the board. Is it possible to get rid of the REPL and freely use that serial interface through MicroPython to talk to the PC, just like Arduino?

Thanks in advance.

davef

Re: What to buy?

Post by davef » Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:17 pm

1) As far as I am aware but then again I have only used two different ESP32 dev boards
2) viewtopic.php?f=18&t=3697
3)
4) China? Aliexpress
5) WebREPL

rcolistete

Post by rcolistete » Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:21 am

I recommed because these boards have official support, good documentation, high production quality :
- ESP32 : TinyPico (https://www.tinypico.com/);
- STM32 : Pyboard D SF2 (https://store.micropython.org/product/PYBD-SF2-W4F2) + WBUS-DIP28/68, see :
https://pybd.io/hw/pybd_sfxw.html
My "MicroPython Samples". My "MicroPython Firmwares" with many options (double precision, ulab, etc).

pythoncoder

Post by pythoncoder » Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:23 am