ULP ADC Sampling

All ESP32 boards running MicroPython.
Target audience: MicroPython users with an ESP32 board.
dairykillsme

ULP ADC Sampling

Post by dairykillsme » Sun Jan 31, 2021 5:08 pm

Hey folks! I'm pretty new to micropython, but I have been loving it so far. However, I have been programming the ESP32 through the ESP IDF for a little bit longer, so I'm a little more familiar with interacting with it through C. I've been messing with the ULP coprocessor and found Thomas Waldmann's awesome library for assembling instructions in python! This has worked great so far and I wrote a short set of instructions for sampling the ADC and saving the measurement to memory. I wrote a class to abstract this and now have a way faster method of sampling one ADC pin that runs in parallel.

Code: Select all

"""This module creates an abstraction for an ADC sampling program
running concurrently on the ESP32 ULP coprocessor"""

from esp32 import ULP
from machine import mem32, ADC, Pin
from esp32_ulp.__main__ import src_to_binary

class ULP_ADC:
    SOURCE = """\
data:       .long    0

entry:      move     r3, data     # load data address into r3
            adc      r2, 0, 4     # measure voltage with ADC1 pad 3 and store result in r2
            st       r2, r3, 0    # store r2 in data [r3 + 0]
            halt                  # halt ULP co-processor until woken up again
"""

ULP_MEM_BASE = 0x50000000
    ULP_DATA_MASK = 0xffff  # ULP data is only in lower 16 bits

LOAD_ADDR = 0
    ENTRY_ADDR = 4

def __init__(self, gpio):
        self.binary = src_to_binary(ULP_ADC.SOURCE)
        # we only use this object to configure the ADC.
        # we don't actually need it for sampling
        self.ulp = ULP()
        self.gpio = gpio

def start(self, wakeup_period_cyc, atten, width):
        self.ulp.set_wakeup_period(0, wakeup_period_cyc) # use timer 0
        self.ulp.load_binary(ULP_ADC.LOAD_ADDR, self.binary)

mem32[ULP_ADC.ULP_MEM_BASE + ULP_ADC.LOAD_ADDR] = 0x1000