asyncio wait for task in a group

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
angel0ne

asyncio wait for task in a group

Post by angel0ne » Mon Apr 05, 2021 6:49 am

Hi all,

I'm new to Asyncio (and MicroPython as well) and I'm writing a firmware for an ESP32.
I need to update an LCD display every time one of multiple events is triggered. Let me give an example just to clarify:
I have a task that reads from a DHT22 sensors (temperature and humidity) every two seconds, every time it returns I need to write the new values on the LCD display (this is quite easy using the Event mechanism).

I also have two push button to increase/decrease the target temperature and, every time one of this button is pressed I need to update the display with the new selected temperature.

Is there a way to await for ONE of multiple task and return when just the first one returns?
I studied Barrier and Gather but it is useful when you have to wait the completion of all tasks that belongs to the pool.

Many thanks to everyone would help me.

kevinkk525

Re: asyncio wait for task in a group

Post by kevinkk525 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 7:48 am

You can poll all events like:

Code: Select all

a=[event1,event2,event3]

for event in a:
    if event.is_set():
        # process LCD
        event.clear()
await asyncio.sleep_ms(20)
The downside is obviously that it checks all the events every 20ms and is therefore less efficient than awaiting a single event directly. Also it might take 20ms until an event is recognized, whereas awaiting a single event will work "immediately".
But it's probably the easiest workaround.
Kevin Köck
Micropython Smarthome Firmware (with Home-Assistant integration): https://github.com/kevinkk525/pysmartnode

angel0ne

Post by angel0ne » Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:57 am