Wireless communication and libaries

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
umassstudent

Wireless communication and libaries

Post by umassstudent » Wed Nov 04, 2015 6:33 pm

I am a student at Umass Dartmouth working on a project that has to deal with measuring the distance between a speaker and microphone. This process will be done with acoustics and your microcontroller. I would like to be able to send and receive the data wirelessly, not wifi, between multiple pyboards(point to multipoint).

What wireless modules do you recommend to work with your microcontroller?

Also, does it support libraries such as numpy and scypy? If not can you recommend any libraries that perform the functionality of those listed above? We are trying to utilize those libraries to do signal processing.

blmorris

Re: Wireless communication and libaries

Post by blmorris » Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:26 pm

The nRF24L01+ has a supported driver written in pure Python, which can be used to establish a point-to-point serial link. Not sure if it supports point to multipoint, though.

You won't be able to run numpy or scipy directly on the pyboard, these are relatively large libraries that require more memory than the STM32F405 has available. That said, it is possible to roll your own signal processing routines, and the processor should have enough power to do some interesting things. @pythoncoder is a frequent contributor here, and has written a set of FFT routines in combined uPy and assembler, available here: https://github.com/peterhinch/micropython-fourier

Even if this isn't what you need, it is a good example of what is possible.