Assembler syntax

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
pythoncoder

Assembler syntax

Post by pythoncoder » Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:42 am

Is there a guide to this? The various resources I've found on the web don't seem to match the requirements of the Micropython environment. I've written some code to do some simple bit twiddling of 32 bit words and have hit the following issues. The bic instruction, according to the various guides I've encountered, takes three arguments. Yet the only way I can get it to work is with two, e.g. bic(r0, r2).
I've yet to find any way to execute the bitwise and instruction. A simple and seems to confuse the Python interpreter, so I thought I'd try andal - yet I've not found a way to get the conditional execution suffixes to work.
I'm new to ARM and evidently there are several variants - perhaps someone could point me to a suitable resource?

Regards, Pete
Peter Hinch
Index to my micropython libraries.

PinkInk

Re: Assembler syntax

Post by PinkInk » Sat Aug 30, 2014 3:52 pm

and conflicts with python, Damien updated it to _and

I put the sum of the knowledge I gained playing with the inline assembler up on the wiki, hoping someone else would contribute to the bits I couldn't fathom.

There are some bits that are currently a little painful, particularly surrounding interacting with mcu bit fields.

Got the general impression that the developers who might be able to fix this sort of thing aren't likely to put a lot of effort into it until the rest of us start using the facility a little more, other things are more important if this functionality isn't generating a lot of noise ;o). Expect I'd do the same thing under the circumstances.

pythoncoder

Post by pythoncoder » Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:44 am

Thank you - I'd missed that essential information in the wiki.

Regards, Pete
Peter Hinch

PinkInk

Post by PinkInk » Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:55 am