MicroPython's maturity and future

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
starstuff

MicroPython's maturity and future

Post by starstuff » Thu Aug 03, 2017 4:51 am

Hi, I have a question about MicroPythont's future and current status.

In the past I've used Espressif AT-Commands and C++, NodeMCU and LuaNode with the espressif chips and others. I'm new to MicroPython and I'm beginning to like it... a lot but I'm a little bit confused as to the maturity of the MP project.

Can someone with inside information (developers, power users etc) bring me up-to-date on the completeness/maturity of MP? I know that 100% complete is impossible since all languages are constantly evolving but how would you describe MP's status? 30%, 50%, 80% complete? Ready for businesses use, mission critical?

The reason I ask is because I have code running on ESP8266 and that very same code won't run on the ESP32. Some functions that are present on the ESP8266 build are not present on the ESP32, for example the uos.dupterm and other. I think that the strengths of MP is the inter operability between boards and chips.

I'd like to hear your comments and experiences in this respect.
Thanks
robert,

pythoncoder

Re: MicroPython's maturity and future

Post by pythoncoder » Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:49 am

The different MicroPython ports have varying levels of maturity. The most stable and fully developed is the STM port as used on the Pyboard. The ESP8266 port is now stable, but a year ago it was prone to crashes and reboots. The ESP32 port is more recent - I haven't yet used it but I'm not surprised to hear that there are unimplemented features.

So I think the question is best raised with reference to a specific port. My personal view is that the STM port is suitable for commercial use.