Help uart.read() with \r\n

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
Bionaught

Help uart.read() with \r\n

Post by Bionaught » Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:16 pm

I'm getting the serial data I want from a medical device, but uart.readline is returning on \newline & \carriage return, as shown here.
I'd like it to just do this on new lines and not for \n & \r. I've tried every combination of parameters in uart.readline('\n\r'), uart.readline('\n) uart.readline('\r')... passing parameters seems to have no effect what so ever. I can't find any documentation on this?
I'm new to programming in Python & programming full stop :lol: Any pointers will be appreciated.
b'$$810818076011147\n'
b'\r'
b'$$8203178256\n'
b'\r'
b'$$83042150000\n'
b'\r'
b'$$84042160000\n'
b'\r'
b'$$8506059000000\n'
b'\r'
b'$$86042312560\n'
b'\r'
b'$$87042280531\n'
b'\r$$8803016RUN\n'
b'\r'

Code: Select all

from machine import UART           # load resources
uart = UART(2, 19200, bits=8, parity=0, stop=1, rx=16, tx=17, timeout=0)       # create UART object
while True:                         # loop continuously
    if uart.any():               # has there gone a minute/is there new data?
        incoming=uart.readline('\r\n') # read from the UART
        print(incoming)             # write status

dhylands

Re: Help uart.read() with \r\n

Post by dhylands » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:14 pm

readline breaks on '\n'

If you want a different behaviour then you should just code up a routine that reads the UART yourself and produces the behaviour you want.

Bionaught

Post by Bionaught » Mon Apr 30, 2018 2:32 am

I thought as much. Thanks for the quick response, confirming this. I guess the code I end up with is gonna be really long and messy before I'm any where even close to done reaching my goal. I'm glad this is just my hobby and not my job, with deadlines.

Roberthh

Post by Roberthh » Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:48 am