MIcropython as MQTT broker

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
james_km69

MIcropython as MQTT broker

Post by james_km69 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:43 pm

Hi, I am new to MQTT. I have it working with my ESP32 broad with my windows (or Rasb) as Mqtt broker.
wondering if it is possible to have the same ESP32 micro controller to be a mqtt broker (running Micro Python on it)
If so, any direction on how to do this?

Thanks,
James

pythoncoder

Re: MIcropython as MQTT broker

Post by pythoncoder » Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:20 am

I don't think this has been done. It would be quite involved and I'm not sure there would be much point. Why not just run mosquitto on a Raspberry Pi?
Peter Hinch
Index to my micropython libraries.

james_km69

Post by james_km69 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:58 am

Thanks pythoncoder for the reply. I was just wondering. My goal was to eliminate at least one hardware from the system

OutoftheBOTS_

Post by OutoftheBOTS_ » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:32 pm

If your connected to the internet then their is always cloud brokers :)

xenobius

Post by xenobius » Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:03 pm

But the thing is that you may want (like I actually do):

1. To have a system independent of cloud brokers simply because internet is not an option. For agriculture projects, you have situations where internet is not feasible because its either too far away from the nearest internet provider and they simply wont offer you internet - or because its just not worth it paying for internet only to be used for multiple tiny modules to communicate effectively together!

2. Custom boards with custom sizes for custom enclosures cannot always make use of the bulky raspberry pi. Sure enough you could now use the MicroPI but once again that a board on its own that needs to be "inserted" into your custom board. Perhaps its more ideal to have just 1 board and so raspberry pi is not an option either.