picocom doesn't work

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
Post Reply
drgouda
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:08 pm

picocom doesn't work

Post by drgouda » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:23 pm

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ picocom /dev/ttyUSB0 -b115200
picocom v3.1

port is : /dev/ttyUSB0
flowcontrol : none
baudrate is : 115200
parity is : none
databits are : 8
stopbits are : 1
escape is : C-a
local echo is : no
noinit is : no
noreset is : no
hangup is : no
nolock is : no
send_cmd is : sz -vv
receive_cmd is : rz -vv -E
imap is :
omap is :
emap is : crcrlf,delbs,
logfile is : none
initstring : none
exit_after is : not set
exit is : no

Type [C-a] [C-h] to see available commands
Terminal ready

-------------------------------------------------------

When I hit the keyboard nothing happens. This is the same with either a NodeMcu and a ESP-01 connected to a Raspi 3. EraseFlash and write_flash do not give a bad prompt beforehand.

Any Idea?

many thanks in advance!!

User avatar
dhylands
Posts: 3821
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:08 pm
Location: Peachland, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: picocom doesn't work

Post by dhylands » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:59 pm

What device are you trying to connect to? The pyboards show up as /dev/ttyACM0 and not ttyUSB0. Make sure that there isn't some other program running which is using the same port (EDIT: I see that you're connecting to an ESP device, so this comment probably isn't relevant)

You can use the lsof command to see if any other process has the port open:

Code: Select all

$ lsof | grep /dev/ttyUSB0
Also make sure that you're using a USB cable with data pins. Some USB cables are "charge only" and only provide power, and don't connect up the data lines.

drgouda
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:08 pm

Re: picocom doesn't work

Post by drgouda » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:02 am

Thanks for the tips. Since I do not want to appear rude, here is a short sign of life from me.
I have already had many hours of "blood, sweat and tears" behind me. The cable is okay. The power supply as a problem I cannot exclude. Other running programs also not.
I will continue to try and then announce myself. Thank you very much!

User avatar
dhylands
Posts: 3821
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:08 pm
Location: Peachland, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: picocom doesn't work

Post by dhylands » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:48 pm

The other possibility is that picocom is working fine and that the MCU hasn't been flashed with micropython properly.

rpr
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:17 pm

Re: picocom doesn't work

Post by rpr » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:47 pm

Can you show the full commands as well the output of erase_flash and write_flash?

Post Reply