microPython Code Structure Help for a Beginner

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
walecka

microPython Code Structure Help for a Beginner

Post by walecka » Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:20 pm

Apologies in advance for the simplistic nature of the question. I am guessing that the information I seek already exists somewhere, and in my experience these types of forum posts are likely to generate snarky/condescending responses. I promise I have cloned and scoured the microPython directory and done tons of google searching before turning to the forum. Anyways...

Background:
I am pretty well versed in C, but I am a complete beginner when it comes to Python in embedded systems. I have gotten up to the point of writing a script and using ./pyboard.py to load it onto my STM32F446RE, where it runs successfully.

Questions:
1 - When I use ' pyb.LED(1).on() ', what python library am I accessing, and what C library does this library access? Big picture, when accessing peripherals, how is the python code linked to the underlying C code? (a lot of which is presumably taken from the STM HAL in my case)
2 - How do I write my own python libraries and link them to C libraries?

If these questions are too broad for a forum post answer, pointing me to some literature would be incredible!

jimmo

Re: microPython Code Structure Help for a Beginner

Post by jimmo » Thu Apr 09, 2020 12:53 am

Hi,
walecka wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:20 pm
Apologies in advance for the simplistic nature of the question.
Not at all, this is a good question and I wish there was a good reference I could point you to, but nobody has really gotten around to it yet. It's ... uhh... on my list.
walecka wrote:
When I use ' pyb.LED(1).on() ', what python library am I accessing, and what C library does this library access?