docs as pdf are missing

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
hcet14

docs as pdf are missing

Post by hcet14 » Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:11 am

Hello I'm new with Micropython,
since I want to read about, I found out the pdf is missing. http://docs.micropython.org/en/v1.13/mi ... n-docs.pdf and http://docs.micropython.org/en/latest/m ... n-docs.pdf are empty.

pythoncoder

Re: docs as pdf are missing

Post by pythoncoder » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:01 am

I don't think these are routinely built. You can build a local copy of the docs, in HTML or PDF form, by following these instructions.
Peter Hinch

hcet14

Post by hcet14 » Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:49 am

Thanks for your answer, but I'm a complete linux beginner and have no clue about latex :(

After solving some problems, I get this
  • Makefile:
    latexpdf: cpydiff
    $(SPHINXBUILD) $(FORCE) -b latex $(ALLSPHINXOPTS) $(BUILDDIR)/latex
    @echo "Running LaTeX files through pdflatex..."
    $(MAKE) -C $(BUILDDIR)/latex all-pdf
    @echo "pdflatex finished; the PDF files are in $(BUILDDIR)/latex."
...but no pdf.

Line 128 in Makefile: $(SPHINXBUILD) $(FORCE) -b latex $(ALLSPHINXOPTS) $(BUILDDIR)/latex

Any idea?
I'm a beginner with this stuff and no programmer at all.

scruss

Post by scruss » Tue Dec 22, 2020 3:34 pm

I don't think this route is particularly well tested, as PDF docs via LaTeX are a completely separate and complex workflow.

At the very least, latexmk is required to get the make process to even begin. This isn't in the docs/README.md

I get a completely different kind of error in the build process where pdflatex is failing to handle UTF-8 characters, starting with the line:

Code: Select all

When buffering is enabled the DAC pin can drive loads down to 5KΩ.