Sending data from mobile device to micropython device over bluetooth

General discussions and questions abound development of code with MicroPython that is not hardware specific.
Target audience: MicroPython Users.
digitalblur

Sending data from mobile device to micropython device over bluetooth

Post by digitalblur » Fri Dec 25, 2020 10:48 pm

Hi,

I am trying to understand the options for sending data to a micropython device over bluetooth from a mobile device. I want to send configuration data to this device from a mobile phone. I have the UART example working but is this the only option or is there another non-UART option?

Thanks in advance

hcet14

Re: Sending data from mobile device to micropython device over bluetooth

Post by hcet14 » Sun Dec 27, 2020 3:23 pm

What's your device? Does it got bluetooth?
I'm a beginner with this stuff and no programmer at all.

digitalblur

Post by digitalblur » Sun Dec 27, 2020 6:39 pm

Yes Im using the dfrobot beetle esp32 here: https://www.dfrobot.com/product-1798.html

Bluetooth Protocols supported: BR/EDR/BLE standard of Bluetooth v4.2.

Is sending data over UART the only option? I only see an example for UART.

thanks

hcet14

Post by hcet14 » Sun Dec 27, 2020 8:18 pm

What do you want to do? Establish a wirelesss connection between ESP and your mobile? And then, what is the ESP supposed to do?
I'm a beginner with this stuff and no programmer at all.

digitalblur

Post by digitalblur » Sun Dec 27, 2020 8:54 pm

I want to use my mobile to configure the software I have installed on the ESP device. For example, change wifi settings, change sleep time configuration, enable/disable software features, etc...

Is Bluetooth UART the only option? I have UART working to send data but I was told there is a non Bluetooth UART option for sending data to the device but I don't see any examples alternative to UART using micropython.

mattyt

Post by mattyt » Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:29 am