Developing MicroPython libraries for different boards

C programming, build, interpreter/VM.
Target audience: MicroPython Developers.
jimako

Developing MicroPython libraries for different boards

Post by jimako » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:21 pm

Hello. First post and my first reaction is hats off to the admins for choosing such original captcha!

I would like to write contribute to the MicroPython community by authoring some libraries for components I use. I would like to ask for advise on how to write libraries which can be extended to the different microcontrollers that MircoPython is available for. For example, I am using ESP8266 but I would like to make it easy for people to extend the library for other boards.

Is there a standard way to do this? I am not a programmer by trade so please share your knowledge.

Thank you.

deshipu

Re: Developing MicroPython libraries for different boards

Post by deshipu » Fri Dec 23, 2016 10:11 pm

This is an excellent question, and I'm afraid that at the moment the answer is "we are still figuring out how to do it".

Personally I spent considerable time porting some of the libraries/drivers originally written for pyboard in such a way, that they may work on other boards (for example on the ESP8266), and I also wrote a dozen or so new drivers, trying to invent and follow good practices for them. They are all going to break following the nearest release, and I'm not sure I will have the time and energy to update them and their documentation to reflect the changes.

So my personal advice would be "check back in a year".

pythoncoder

Post by pythoncoder » Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:58 am