Returning a struct or items from a struct (mp_obj_new_struct?!?)

C programming, build, interpreter/VM.
Target audience: MicroPython Developers.
ptjm8422

Returning a struct or items from a struct (mp_obj_new_struct?!?)

Post by ptjm8422 » Sun May 27, 2018 8:10 pm

Hi, this is probably the worst thing to say when looking for help but I am completely new to C, and micropython. I have been playing around with ESP8266's for a little while, and I began a project where I ended up way over my head, simply writing in the Arduino IDE. As I more or less know python to a useable level, I thought I would solve my problems by creating a micropython module that would suit my needs. This has been far more successful than my other attempts. But I have some data, as a struct that I would like my function to output.
This is the function, with a failed attempt:

STATIC mp_obj_t promisc_getpacket(void) {

mp_obj_t destination;

destination = packetbuffer1.destination;

return MP_OBJ_NEW_list(destination);
}
STATIC MP_DEFINE_CONST_FUN_OBJ_0(promisc_getpacket_obj, promisc_getpacket);

(simple I know; the rest is handled in separate functions)

This was an attempt to output an array from the struct 'packetbuffer1' as defined earlier in the script:

struct packet{
uint8_t destination[6];
uint8_t source[6];
uint8_t channel;
};

struct packet packetbuffer1;

Ideally I would be able to return the strut, into python but every attempt I make seems to fail, either when I compile or crashes Micropython when I test it, rebooting the ESP8266.
Any help would be much appreciated in solving this issue!
Thanks, Peter!

ptjm8422

Re: Returning a struct or items from a struct (mp_obj_new_struct?!?)

Post by ptjm8422 » Mon May 28, 2018 10:32 pm