Issues with data-logging on Pyboard

The official pyboard running MicroPython.
This is the reference design and main target board for MicroPython.
You can buy one at the store.
Target audience: Users with a pyboard.
stucke02

Issues with data-logging on Pyboard

Post by stucke02 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 7:50 am

Hello!
My name is Sam, and I am a graduate student in mechanical engineering, trying to collect data from an analog pressure sensor for a personal research project. Earlier tonight, I was able to get a simple script working to record the sensor (and 3V3 reference) voltage, along with a timestamp. However, it only works for "small" numbers of data points. I have included an excerpt of my script and data.

The time frame I wish to collect over is likely on the order of ~100-200 seconds, and I found that if I make the elapsed time too large, a file will be created, but it will be empty-- a size of 0 KB. The script I am using is one that I repurposed after reading this article [/viewtopic.php?t=86]. I noticed that a similar thing occurred when I used the loop, with the data logging for smaller values of the loop iteration number, but failing for larger values. I have not pinpointed the exact number which it no longer records, but it cannot do 10 seconds.

I assume that I am running into some kind of memory limit, but as there is no error (that I can see). Does anyone know what limit I am running into? Some kind of time-out?

Once I can record data, I plan to write the data onto an SD card. If anyone has recommendations about using a queue/buffer, those would also be appreciated, as I believe this script may be somewhat slow. Me thinks the writing and collecting in the loop causes unwanted delay. But thats just my intuition. And if anyone has a script to do what I am trying to do, I would gladly take (a look at) it.

And lastly, thank you for your time! If anyone needs any clarifying info, I am happy to provide it.

Warm regards,
Sam

Code: Select all