Adding a BOOT0 switch

The official pyboard running MicroPython.
This is the reference design and main target board for MicroPython.
You can buy one at the store.
Target audience: Users with a pyboard.
Post Reply
User avatar
dhylands
Posts: 3821
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:08 pm
Location: Peachland, BC, Canada
Contact:

Adding a BOOT0 switch

Post by dhylands » Wed May 07, 2014 6:15 am

Since I flash new versions of MicroPython quite frequently, I decided to add a BOOT0 switch.

The pyboard is mounted in a SliceCase
Boot-Switch-800.jpg
Boot-Switch-800.jpg (225.96 KiB) Viewed 6531 times
The red wire runs to 3.3v and the white wire runs to the pull-down resistor on BOOT0. A dab of hot glue holds the switch in place on the processor.

Now I can enter DFU mode by pressing BOOT0 and RESET.

pfalcon
Posts: 1155
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Adding a BOOT0 switch

Post by pfalcon » Wed May 07, 2014 11:26 am

Good use for MCU - now it doesn't take so much space uselessly ;-)
Awesome MicroPython list
Pycopy - A better MicroPython https://github.com/pfalcon/micropython
MicroPython standard library for all ports and forks - https://github.com/pfalcon/micropython-lib
More up to date docs - http://pycopy.readthedocs.io/

User avatar
mbirth
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding a BOOT0 switch

Post by mbirth » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:55 pm

Do you only have to short BOOT0 and 3V3 during reset, or does it have to be permanently shorted during the whole flashing process?
pyBoard v1.0 + LCD32MKv1.0 | WiPy + Expansion Board | GitHub

User avatar
dhylands
Posts: 3821
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:08 pm
Location: Peachland, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a BOOT0 switch

Post by dhylands » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:30 pm

The BOOT0 switch only needs to be held while the board resets. You can release it a split second after releasing the reset button.

The red/yellow/blue LEDs turn on dimly, which is your indication that you're in DFU mode.

Incidently, with the new firmware, you can use:

Code: Select all

pyb.bootloader()
to enter into DFU mode, so the only time I need to use the BOOT0 switch now is when I totally bork the board.

User avatar
mbirth
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding a BOOT0 switch

Post by mbirth » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:34 pm

Awesome! Thank you!
pyBoard v1.0 + LCD32MKv1.0 | WiPy + Expansion Board | GitHub

Post Reply